Episode 44: Apathy Loves Melody

You probably just poured out a significant amount of intellectual energy and political passion in the recent elections, and are now feeling apathetic AF.  This week's mix captures a mood that wavers between apathy, ambivalence and glimmers of optimism while the spirit is in reboot. Artists include Emily King, Alex Wiley, Omar Apollo, Emapea, Traffic, Cosmo Pyke, Melody's Echo Chamber, Drugdealer, Lijadu Sisters, Thao & The Get Down Stay Down, Shannon and The Clams, So Many Wizards, NVDES, and Sniffle Party among other neat music makers.


  1. Distance by Emily King on The Switch (Making Music Records)
  2. Games by Alex Wiley on Tangerine Dream (Alex Wiley / EMPIRE)
  3. Brakelights by Omar Apollo (se7en syllables)
  4. YEAH RIGHT by Joji on BALLADS 1 (88rising Music/12Tone Music, LLC)
  5. Funk It Up by Emapea on Zoning Out Volume 1 (Cold Busted)
  6. Light Up Or Leave Me Alone by Traffic on The Low Spark Of High Heeled Boys (Island Records)
  7. Social Sites by Cosmo Pyke (70Hz Recordings Ltd)
  8. As Ingle by Shoos Off on Most Times (S/R)
  9. Bisou Magique by Melody's Echo Chamber on S/T (Fat Possum)
  10. We Are Fine by Sharon Van Etten on Tramp (Jagjaguwar)
  11. Sea of Nothing by Drugdealer on The End Of Comedy (Weird World)
  12. Come On Home by Lijadu Sisters on Horizon Unlimited (Knitting Factory)
  13. Gallipoli by Beirut on Gallipoli (4AD)
  14. Golden Hour by Sam Roberts Band on Lo-Fantasy (Paper Bag Records)
  15. Holy Roller by Thao & The Get Down Stay Down on We The Common (Ribbon Music)
  16. All Your Love by Jakob Ogawa (Playground Music)
  17. Will You Promise by Ebo Taylor on My Love and Music (Mr Bongo)
  18. Dark Red by Steve Lacy (Three Quarter)
  19. Mosquiter by Stove on 's Favorite Friend (Exploding In Sound Records)
  20. Rip Van Winkle by Shannon and The Clams on Dreams in the Rat House (Hardly Art)
  21. Lose Your Mind by So Many Wizards on Warm Nothing (JAXART Records)
  22. Shake It Off by The Spinto Band on Cool Cocoon (Spintonic Recordings)
  23. On My Magic by NVDES on Vibe City Utah (Maison Nvdité)
  24. Put a Light On by Generationals on Heza (Polyvinyl)
  25. All The Snow Is Gone by Sniffle Party on Peach Dream (lowkey radical)