One whole year of “broadcasting in place”. An mostly-bitter anniversary, if we're being honest. The discombobulated sensation of being in exactly the same place, and yet all around and underneath your there have been monumental changes and damage that you still haven't really come to terms with.

This week's show as going to be on that theme and wallow in music about loneliness and solitude, but then the wonder new record from William Doyle dropped — Great Spans of Muddy Time is a record I was looking forward to, but didn't expect to be so inspired by, such is its idiosyncratic askew nature of art-pop, melody and incredible layering. It's great and it lifted me out of a myopic funk to do make this show into something a little more substantive. Lots of other weird art tracks and synth noise to go with it, so I hope you enjoy!


  1. The District Sleeps Alone Tonight by The Postal Service on Give Up (Sub Pop)
  2. Endless by Portico Quartet on Endless (Extended Version) (Gondwana)
  3. We Are Always Alone by DJ Shadow on Our Pathetic Age (Mass Appeal)
  4. Break
  5. Featured Semi-Bionic by William Doyle on Great Spans of Muddy Time (Tough Love) New
  6. Two by Anna B Savage on A Common Turn (City Slang)
  7. Pelican Man by Youth Lagoon on Wondrous Bughouse (Fat Possum)
  8. Ultra Facial! by James K on 036 (AD 93) New
  9. Break
  10. Featured I Need To Keep You In My Life by William Doyle on Great Spans of Muddy Time (Tough Love) New
  11. Hard Way by Flock Of Dimes on Head Of Roses (Sub Pop) New
  12. Reconstellated by Karima Walker on Waking the Dreaming Body (Keeled Scales)
  13. Break
  14. Meeting Up by Maxïmo Park on Nature Always Wins (Prolifica)
  15. Alone, Together by The Strokes on Is This It (RCA)
  16. Your Thunder and Your Lightning by Warm Drag on Butch Things (Six Tonnes De Chair) New
  17. Break
  18. Featured Theme from Muddy Time by William Doyle on Great Spans of Muddy Time (Tough Love) New
  19. Black Swan by Thom Yorke on The Eraser (XL)
  20. Dripping Down by East India Youth on Total Strife Forever (Stolen)
  21. Break
  22. A Chef's Kiss by Lambchop on Showtunes (Merge) New
  23. The Ceder Room by Doves on Lost Souls (Heavenly)
  24. Nobody Wants to Be Here and Nobody Wants to Leave by The Twilight Sad on Òran Mór Session (Fatcat)
  25. Break
  26. Ditty (Dylan Henner Remix) by Kumi Takahara on Ditty (Flau)
  27. Chiaroscuro by Alessandro Cortini on Scuro Chiaro (Mute) New