Something New

This week's No Magic features the solo breakthrough for Jamie xx, his full album remix with Gil Scott-Heron, We're New Here. Released just a few months prior to Scott-Heron's passing in 2011, the album transformed his final work I'm New Here, with dance, dub and 2-step production. It brought attention and recognition to Jamie xx beyond his work in the background as percussionist for The xx, and paved the way for a series of solo releases culminating in his In Colour album.


  1. My Best Friend by The Coral on Coral Island (Run On) New
  2. Dead End by Jackie Hayes on Dead End (Self Released) New
  3. Cheers by Faye Webster on I Know You're Funny haha (Secretly Canadian) New
  4. Break
  5. Lilys by Warpaint on Lilys (Heirlooms) New
  6. Some Things Last A Long Time by Sharon van Etten on Let Go / Some Things Last A Long Time (Jagjaguwar)

    New Her cover of Daniel Johnson's track, originally featured on the 2020 Pepe the Frog documentary “Feels Good Man”.

  7. Love is a Force (feat. Bill Callahan & Stine Grøn) by Kira Skov on Spirit Tree (Stunt)
  8. Break
  9. Featured Home by Jamie xx & Gil Scott-Heron on We're New Here (XL)
  10. Crust by Flying Lotus on Yasuke (Warp) New
  11. Lonely World by Moses Sumney on Aromanticism (Jagjaguwar)
  12. Break
  13. Featured The Crutch by Jamie xx & Gil Scott-Heron on We're New Here (XL)
  14. Gosh by Jamie xx on In Colour (Young)
  15. Raver by Burial on Untrue (Hyperdub)
  16. Break
  17. Where Did the Night Go by Gil Scott-Heron on I'm New Here (XL)
  18. Featured Piano Player by Jamie xx & Gil Scott-Heron on We're New Here (XL)
  19. Featured NY is Killing Me by Jamie xx & Gil Scott-Heron on We're New Here (XL)
  20. Hold the Line by SBTRKT on Transitions (Young)
  21. CMYK by James Blake on CMYK EP (R&S)
  22. Break
  23. Running by Makaya McCraven & Gil Scott-Heron on We're New Again (XL)
  24. The Vulture by Gil Scott-Heron on Small Talk at 125th and Lenox (Flying Dutchman)
  25. (How Could Anybody) Feel At Home by Open Mike Eagle on Brick Body Kids Still Daydream (Mello Music Group)
  26. Break
  27. Featured I'll Take Care of U by Jamie xx & Gil Scott-Heron on We're New Here (XL)
  28. Sunset by The xx on Coexist (Young)
  29. One Breath by Empress Of on Sound It Out (Major Arcana) Info

    New “Sound It Out is a new national campaign that uses the power and soul of music to help parents and caregivers better support their middle-schooler’s emotional wellness.”

  30. Hush by The Marías on Hush (Nice Life) New
  31. Break
  32. getforward by Golden Vessel on getforward (Self Released) New