Warm Embrace

A live show from the Secret Alley tonight — which is always fun. We're featuring a new album from Leed's own Katie Harkin, her second solo record Honeymoon Suite is a pandemic lockdown recording (I suspect we'll be hearing a lot of those this year…) but really captured my attention, combining her established talents for jangly indie guitar melodies (that underpinned Sky Larkin) with electronic productions, and a really beautiful ambient track to end. What is it “they” say about “constraint breeds creativity”? I mean… that, I guess. Right before you slap “them” in the face for trying to put a silver lining on the fucking pandemic.

Also this week, I'm announcing that No Magic is heading toward a conclusion: With some long travel planned for August, the show is going to go back on hiatus in August. I've decided that after a 3½ run, the show has run its course. I'll be back with something else, no doubt, but not immediately committing to when. It's good to take a break. Fear not though, there're still a full month of shows to come through July, so we'll have some fun yet. Thank you for listening and supporting the show all this time so far though, it's been a lovely thing. More reflections and sentiment to come later.


  1. One of These Days by Pink Floyd on Meddle (Capitol)
  2. Laguna Seca by Shearwater on The Great Awakening (Self Released) New
  3. Lucid by Cloth on Low Sun EP (Rock Action) New
  4. 1 in 3 (I'm Fine) by Self Esteem on Prima Facie (Universal) New
  5. Angel Numbers by Hamish Hawk (Post Electric Artists)
  6. Break
  7. Featured (Give Me) The Streets of Leeds by Harkin on Honeymoon Suite (Hand Mirror) New
  8. Wondrous Place by Drug Store Romeos (Fiction) New
  9. My Body Is A Cage by A Giant Dog on Neon Bible (Merge)
  10. Featured A New Day by Harkin on Honeymoon Suite (Hand Mirror) New
  11. Heat Lightning by Mitski on Laurel Hell (Dead Oceans)
  12. Anima by Gwenno (Heavenly) New
  13. Hangin' on for Dear Life by Nancy & The Mysterious Visions on Happy Oddities EP (B3SCI)
  14. Break
  15. Wet Dream by Wet Leg on Wet Leg (Domino)
  16. Antibodies by Sky Larkin on The Golden Spike (Wichita)
  17. I Must Not Think Bad Thoughts by X on More Fun in the New World (Fat Possum)
  18. Break
  19. List of Demands (Reparations) by Saul Williams on Saul Williams (FADER)
  20. Aggro Crag by The Koreatown Oddity on Aggro Crag EP (Stones Throw) New
  21. More Pressure (feat. Kevin Abstract) by Kae Tempest on The Line Is A Curve (Republic)
  22. Break
  23. Spitting Off The Edge Of The World (feat. Perfume Genius) by Yeah Yeah Yeahs on Cool It Down (Secretly Canadian) New
  24. False Alarm by Diatom Deli on Time~Lapse Nature (Rving Intl) New
  25. Break
  26. Deep In The Glowing Heart (Night Version) (ANNA Remix) by Jon Hopkins (Domino) New
  27. Featured Driving Down A Flight Of Stairs by Harkin on Honeymoon Suite (Hand Mirror) New