B-Side Dreams 198 - Marcel

This episode is dedicated to my new cat Marcel, featuring French Canadian Country music from Marcel Martel, New Music from Big Search, Laura Viers, Angel Olsen, and Madeline Kenney, and a look back at the Mekons and Sally Timms. I also scored Stevie Wonder's Songs in the Key of Life on vinyl a couple weeks ago from Noise Records, so I share a lesser known track from that album to wrap things up.


  1. Xylem by Green-House on Six Songs For Invisible Gardens (Leaving Records)
  2. Floating By by Washed Out on Mister Mellow (Stone's Throw)
  3. Give Me Back My Dreams (featuring Sally Timms) by The 6ths on Hyacinths and Thistles (Merge)
  4. Darkness and Doubt by Mekons on Fear and Whiskey (Sin)
  5. Un Coin du Ciel by Marcel Martel on Sois Fidéle et Sincére (Disques Mérite)
  6. You're Dead by Norma Tanega on Walkin' My Cat Named Dog (New Voice)
  7. Be That Man by Madeline Kenney on Sucker's Lunch (Carpark)
  8. I Understand Men by The Moore Brothers on Autobiography (Unavailable Records)
  9. Whole New Mess by Angel Olsen on Whole New Mess (Jagjaguwar)
  10. I'm in Hell by The Microphones on Don't Wake Me Up (Elverum & Sun)
  11. Burn Too Bright by Laura Veirs on Burn Too Bright (Raven Marching Band)
  12. AEIOU (feat. Brooklyn Youth Chorus) by Wye Oak on No Horizon (Merge)
  13. Infinite Mirror by Big Search on Infinite Mirror (30th Century Records)
  14. Let's Move to the Country by Bill Callahan on Let's Move to the Country (EP 2020) (Drag City)
  15. Village Ghetto Land by Stevie Wonder on Songs in the Key of Life (Motown)