“Babel Babble”

As the sun begins to sink to the west of Eclectic Kettle, we're trying to bring back some of our favourite guest hosts from over the years. This week it's Johan Oskarsson from 1.21 Gigawatts. This week is also really special as we'll be featuring excerpts of Ben's interview with Super Furry Animals front-man Gruff Rhys. He's here to talk about his new solo record Babelsberg, and his show next week at the Chapel in San Francisco.

Gruff is a smart, thoughtful man and one of Ben's all time musical heroes, so this was a treat. The full interview is featured alongside this show as a special standalone episode (along with a transcript, since we were recording a Welsh accent over the telephone.) Listen in full here.

You can win a pair of tickets for Gruff Rhys at The Chapel by visiting our giveaway page. He's always a delight, but as you'll hear in the interview, this album in particular should make for an especially good show. Email giveaways@bff.fm with the subject “Gruff” to win! (More details here.)


  1. FFS by Deaf Wish on Lithium Zion (Sub Pop)
  2. The Airplane Song by Laura Jane Grace & the Devouring Mothers on Bought to Rot (Bloodshot)
  3. Break
  4. Let It Burn by Goat on Let It Burn (Rocket)
  5. Tunnel by Minami Deutsch on With Dim Light (Guru Guru Brain)
  6. Dripping Sun by Kikagaku Moyo on Masana Temples (Guruguru Brain)
  7. Break
  8. Can't You See by Fidlar on Almost Free (Mom + Pop)
  9. Cracker Drool by Goat Girl on Goal Girl (Rough Trade)
  10. The Club by Gruff Rhys on Babelsberg (Rough Trade)
  11. Break
  12. Oh Dear! by Gruff Rhys on Babelsberg (Rough Trade)
  13. Break
  14. Mice by Billie Marten on Mice (Sony)
  15. Thanks 4 Nothing by Nilüfer Yanya on Do You Like Pain? (ATO)
  16. Att Ligga På Sitt Golv by Rådjuret on Rådjuret (Luxury)
  17. Break
  18. Cactus by Teleman on Family of Aliens (Moshi Moshi)
  19. Morning Velvet Sky by Gulp on All Good Wishes (ELK)
  20. Sand Dunes by Django Django on Winter's Beach EP (Because)
  21. Break
  22. A Little More Numb by Les Big Byrd on Iran Iraq IKEA (PNKSLM)
  23. Lord Luck by Ulrika Spacek on Suggestive Listening EP (Tough Love)
  24. Premonition by HOLY on All These Worlds Are Yours (PNKSLM)
  25. Break
  26. C O S M (Daniel Avery Remix) by Jon Hopkins (Domino)