2020 hindsight

Since I balanced two shows – Loose Canon Listening Club and Boy with Girl's Name Morning Mixtape – in 2020, my annual year-end review is also a high wire act. In this crossover episode, we'll begin with tracks off of 11 classical and new music releases that impressed me and end with selections from my favorite 16 indie rock albums. If you'd like to learn more about my Top "5" albums of 2020, you can read my recent BFF.fm blog post. Thank you for listening!


  1. Dusk Tempi by Eluvium on Ultrasonic (Temporary Residence)
  2. VII. by Jennifer Curtis and Tyshawn Sorey on Invisible Ritual (New Focus/Tundra)
  3. Errollyn Wallen: Concerto Grosso – I. by Chineke! Orchestra, Anthony Parnther (conductor) on Spark Catchers (NMC)
  4. Ashley Stanley: Night Sketches by Grand Valley State University New Music Ensemble on Dawn Chorus (Innova)
  5. Paul Wiancko: Thous&ths by yMusic on Ecstatic Science (New Amsterdam)
  6. Revolver by Miyamoto is Black Enough on Burn / Build (National Sawdust Tracks)
  7. Anthony Cheung: The Real Book of Fake Tunes - III. by Spektral Quartet with Claire Chase on Experiments in Living (New Focus)
  8. III. Alleluia by Gallicantus on Sarah Kirkland Snider: Mass for the Endangered (Nonesuch/New Amsterdam)
  9. Part 7 by The Living Earth Show on Danny Clay: Music for Hard Times (self released)
  10. O Ruor Sanguinis - Hildegard von Bingen by Turner Capehart on Early Music (self released)
  11. Body and Being by Molly Joyce on Breaking and Entering (New Amsterdam)
  12. Quiet, Pt. 5 - Anthem by Methods Body on Methods Body (New Amsterdam)
  13. Make It Easy by Sylvan Esso on Free Love (Loma Vista)
  14. Another Space And Time by Laura Veirs on My Echo (Raven Marching Band)
  15. Pilot Light by Sour Widows on Sour Widows (self released)
  16. White Window Light by Madeline Kenney on Sucker's Lunch (Carpark)
  17. Firestarter by Haley Blais on Below The Salt (Tiny Kingdom)
  18. I Try by Kacey Johansing on No Better Time (Night Bloom)
  19. No Skips by Oddisee (feat. Ralph Real) on ODD CURE (Outer Note)
  20. Flagey God by Bartees Strange on Live Forever (Memory)
  21. Favour Your Fortune by Crack Cloud on Pain Olympics (Meat Machine)
  22. Detroit River Rock by Boldy James / Sterling Toles on Manger on McNichols (Sector 7G)
  23. Illuminate by FAKE EYES on A Drip Is All We Know (New Morality Zine)
  24. Waves by Hum on Inlet (Earth Analog)
  25. parrot by covet on technicolor (Triple Crown)
  26. Tuskegee by Zeal and Ardor on Wake of a Nation EP (MVKA)
  27. Death Croons by Bambara on Stray (Wharf Cat)
  28. Bueno by Dogleg on Melee (Triple Crown)
  29. Sei Sei by Kaki King on Modern Yesterdays (Cantaloupe)