Of Winter

The nights are dark, the chill is closing in around us, and it makes me look for familiar music that some how captures the feeling of cosy warmth against the cold backdrop. Mogwai's Hardcore Will Never Die, But You Will (phenonemal title) and its close-companion EP Earth Division both came out in 2011 and really encapsulate a lot of that sound for me. Those are our features tonight, along with selections from many an electronic composer and other, spine-tingling sounds.

There's also a new track from Thom Yorke, and a new track from Jon Hopkins covering Thom Yorke. Plus we're accidentally a lot of Joy Division; not even sure how that happened, but not mad about it.


  1. From the Ritz to the Rubble by Arctic Monkeys on Whatever People Say I am That's What I am Not (Domino)
  2. Break
  3. Featured Mexican Grand Prix by Mogwai on Hardcore Will Never Die, But You Will (Sub Pop)
  4. Transmission by Joy Division on Total (Warner)
  5. You'll Have to Scream Louder by Tindersticks (City Slang) New
  6. Break
  7. Featured White Noise by Mogwai on Hardcore Will Never Die, But You Will (Sub Pop)
  8. Her Revolution by Thom Yorke, Burial & Four Tet on Her Revolution / His Rope (XL) New
  9. Break
  10. Featured Drunk and Crazy by Mogwai on Earth Division EP (Sub Pop)
  11. Lux Prima by Karen O, Dangermouse on Lux Prima (BMG)
  12. Golden Times 1 by Ben Lukas Boysen on Spells (Erased Tapes)
  13. Break
  14. Pioneer to the Falls by Interpol on Our Love To Admire (Capitol)
  15. Sedna by Efterklang on Piramida (4AD)
  16. Goodbye England (Covered in Snow) by Laura Marling on I Speak Because I Can (Ribbon)
  17. Break
  18. Featured Hound of Winter by Mogwai on Earth Division EP (Sub Pop)
  19. End of the Affair by Ben Howard on I Forget Where We Were (Island)
  20. Dawn Chorus by Jon Hopkins on Dawn Chorus (Domino) New
  21. Break
  22. Atmosphere by James Blake on Covers (UMG) New
  23. Decades by Joy Division on Closer (Warner)
  24. Our Lord Debussy by A Winged Victory For The Sullen on The Undivided Five (Ninja Tune)