Hey, Hello, Hiatus

The past year, as you're aware, has been a lot. It's with great relief that, with the power of 2 doses of the Pfizer vaccine running through my veins, and a plane ticket that, at time of writing, is still valid for travel  to the UK next week, I'm going to take a long overdue trip back to my UK homeland and visit family for the first time since this rolling disaster began.

Since I'll be away for a while, No Magic is going to go on a little hiatus to make room for something else new and live — look out for news about that soon! Before I pack my bags though, this week is going to be a boisterous, upbeat, lively affair. Featuring Graham Coxon's Love Travels At illegal Speeds, and various adjacent records, let's have a good time before putting the dust cover on our microphones. When I return, maybe it'll even be back in the BFF.fm studio? We can be hope. In the meantime, thank you for listening, stay well, healthy and safe. And of course, let me know if you hear any good records.

No Magic will return…


  1. Love Will Tear Us Apart by New Order on Education, Entertainment, Recreation (Live at Alexandra Palace) (Warner) New
  2. Break
  3. Featured Standing on my Own Again by Graham Coxon on Love Travels At Illegal Speeds (Parlophone)
  4. Who's Your Money On? (Plastic House) by Inhaler on It Won't Always Be Like This (Universal) New
  5. Sheila Can Do It by Weezer on Van Weezer (Crush) New
  6. Break
  7. Featured I Can't Look At Your Skin by Graham Coxon on Love Travels At Illegal Speeds (Parlophone)
  8. Coffee & TV by Blur on 13 (Parlophone)
  9. Sentimentality by Remember Sports on Like A Stone (Father/Daughter) New
  10. Dumcane by Kevin Morby on Dumcane (Dead Oceans)
  11. Break
  12. Down by St. Vincent on Daddy's Home (Loma Vista) New
  13. Animal by LUMP on Animal (Partisan)

    New Launching a second album from LUMP, Laura Marling and TUUNG's Mike Lindsay's project.

  14. The First Day by Villagers on The First Day (Domino)
  15. Break
  16. Featured You Always Let Me Down by Graham Coxon on Love Travels At Illegal Speeds (Parlophone)
  17. Pump It Up by Elvis Costello on This Year's Model (Hip-O)
  18. A Little More Time by Reigning Sound on A Little More Time With Reigning Sound (Merge)
  19. Break
  20. Down to the Sea by Graham Coxon on The End of the Fucking World 2 (Self Released)
  21. Battery In Your Leg by Blur on Think Tank (Parlophone)

    Notable as Graham Coxon's only contribution to “Think Tank” (which is an album like a lot, regardless), but that wobbling detuned guitar is so, so stellar on every listen. Remarkable way to end an album, especially given the circumstances of his leaving the band.

  22. Soon It Will be Fire (feat. Moses Sumney) by Hypnotic Brass Ensemble on This Is A Mindfulness Drill (Jagjaguwar) New
  23. Break
  24. Swanky Modes (Dennis Bovell Mix) by JARV IS… on Swanky Modes Dennis Bovell Mixes (Rough Trade)
  25. The Guns of Brixton by The Clash on London Calling (Sony)
  26. Man Alone (Can't Stop the Fadin') (Charles Webster Mix) by Tindersticks on Distractions (City Slang)
  27. Break
  28. The Darkness That You Fear by The Chemical Brothers (Universal) New