Sounds In The Dark - 10.27.21

Tonight's edition features great new tunes from Grouper, alva noto, 36, Philippe Cote, Olafur Arnalds, Portico Quartet, Steve Roach, Jon Hopkins and tons more!


  1. Ultraviolet by Potico Quartet on Monument (Portico Quartet)

    New Another new tune!

  2. Sit Around The Fire (feat. Ram Dass & East Forest) by Jon Hopkins on Music For Psychadelic Therapy (Domino)

    New Single from Hopkins' newest record featuring voice recordings of Ram Dass. Out November 12th.

  3. Haven Returns by Ian Hawgood on Fragmented Boundaries (Home Normal)

    Sort of a counterpoint to the beautiful Dharma talk from Ram Dass. Collaboration with Phil Tomsett. Cello by Aaron Martin. Preaching by who knows?

  4. The Drift Home by Steve Roach on @0 EP2 (Ahead Of Our Time)

    New Part of Coldcut's @0 ambient EP series, here featuring Steve Roach (A side) and A Winged Victory For The Sullen (B side). Released on the 14th of October.

  5. Beach Sequence (from "Beyond The Clouds") by Passengers on Original Soundtracks I (Island)

    1995 studio record from Brian Eno and U2 under the moniker "Passengers."

  6. Strung Out by Jakatta on Visions (Z Records)

    One of UK DJ Dave Lee's monikers. Clearly he enjoyed the soundtrack from Shawshank Redemption. Pretty sure the phone voice giving the time was lifted from a Vangelis record.

  7. Circadia by Philippe Cote, Marc Copland on Fleur Revisited (Odd Sound) New
  8. The Iron Bridge by Jacaszek on Music For Film (Ghostly International)
  9. Stars by Yosi Horikawa on Vapor (First Word Records)
  10. Herbert's Make It Right Dub by Susumu Yokota / Matthew Herbert on Herbert's Make It Right Dub (Muscmine)

    New Herbert remixing a piece by the late great Susumu Yokota.

  11. Pale Interior by Grouper on Shade (Kranky)

    New Autumn always seems like the right time for a new Grouper record.

  12. Kadizonas by Olafur Arnalds on The Invisible EP (Decca)

    New Sort of a big label jump for Arnalds who I've usually just seen on Erased Tapes' catalog.

  13. Sanctuary Sunset by 36 on Weaponised Serenity (

    New Dennis Huddleston's 36 moniker takes a live turn on this record, his third release on

  14. Cruising Toward Dawn by Deepchord on Sommer (Soma Recordings Ltd.)
  15. Stratum by Visible Cloaks, Yoshio Ojima & Satsuki Shibano on FRKWYS Vol. 15: serenitatem (RVNG Intl.)
  16. Pinch and Flare by Kelpe on Ex-Aquarium (DC Recordings)
  17. HYbr:D oval p-dance by alva noto on HYbr:D Vol.1 (NOTON)

    New Forthcoming release on Nov. 12th. Each record in the series will feature a distinctive approach to music composition.

  18. Zucht 2 by Machinefabriek on Slaapzucht (Machinefabriek)