Instant Karma Police

Jon Sung is a live-wire creative eclectic, a white hole emitting ideas into our universe at a rate only modelled theoretically in quantum mechanics. His podcast Idea Factory Giveawayshares the fruits of his ever-active mind, while bi-monthly he brings people together at an event born of just one of these ideas: Instant Band Night. Show up, put your name in a pot associated with one or more instruments that you can play (to any degree), and revel as new bands drawn at random before your eyes, given 7 minutes to write an original song, and then perform it before you on a stage. Jon shares a set of music tied into his love of improvisation and musical joviality, and we talk about the upcoming event — this week on July 11th. You should come!

Meanwhile, our album of the week comes from one Thom Yorke, whose third solo album-proper ANIMA just came out. It's an accomplished effort with long-time collaborated Nigel Godrich, familiar in tone to his work with Radiohead, but as ever more indulgent in his electronic and dance influences. It's a more coherent work than his previous Tomorrow's Modern Boxes (which I also like a lot), and has some interesting continuity to older Radiohead work too.


  1. Taste by Ty Segall on First Taste (Drag City)
  2. Easy Way Out by Ilgen-Nur (Power Nap Records)
  3. Break
  4. Not The News by Thom Yorke on ANIMA (XL)
  5. Bulletproof by The Soft Cavalry on The Soft Cavalry (Bella Union)
  6. Repetition by Ride on This Is Not a Safe Place (Witchita)
  7. Break
  8. Mack the Knife by Louis Armstrong on 1956 (Top Twenty)
  9. Break
  10. Take Your Medicine by Cloud Cult on The Meaning of 8 (Rebel Group)
  11. Break
  12. Vital Nerve by Company Flow on Funcrusher Plus (Rawkus)
  13. Break
  14. Twist by Thom Yorke on Anima (XL)
  15. 15 Step by Radiohead on In Rainbows (XL)
  16. Impossible Knots by Thom Yorke on ANIMA (XL)
  17. Break
  18. Down to This by Soul Coughing on Ruby Vroom (Slash/Warner)
  19. Like in Our Graves by Dave Matthews Band on Crash (Sony)
  20. Break
  21. Why Does My Mind by Hot Chip on A Bath Full of Ecstacy (Domino)
  22. Break
  23. Linked by Bonobo on Linked (Ninja Tune)